GSP
Quick Navigator

Search Site

Unix VPS
A - Starter
B - Basic
C - Preferred
D - Commercial
MPS - Dedicated
Previous VPSs
* Sign Up! *

Support
Contact Us
Online Help
Handbooks
Domain Status
Man Pages

FAQ
Virtual Servers
Pricing
Billing
Technical

Network
Facilities
Connectivity
Topology Map

Miscellaneous
Server Agreement
Year 2038
Credits
 

USA Flag

 

 

Time Zones

Instructions
To change the time zone on your virtual server, do the following:
  1. Determine the file that corresponds to your time zone and use it instead of Etc/GMT. You can use one of the 400 time zone files from these listings or select one of the more commonly used ones below.

    Description
    File
    Current Date & Time
     Greenwich Mean Time  GMT  Fri-22-Sep-2017  18:52:19  GMT 
     Eastern Time  EST5EDT  Fri-22-Sep-2017  14:52:19  EDT 
     Central Time  CST6CDT  Fri-22-Sep-2017  13:52:19  CDT 
     Mountain Time  MST7MDT  Fri-22-Sep-2017  12:52:19  MDT 
     Pacific Time  PST8PDT  Fri-22-Sep-2017  11:52:19  PDT 

  2. Update your Virtual Server's localtime by typing the following at a command prompt:

      chmod 600 ~/etc/localtime
      cp /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/GMT ~/etc/localtime

  3. Update your shell's localtime by editing your .cshrc file. This can be done by using iManager or at a command prompt:

      pico ~/.cshrc

    Then modify your shell's time zone:

      setenv TZ Etc/GMT